First movie was 'Martyrs', a France/Quebec co-production and it's one that's difficult to write about. It starts off as a Horror film in the 'Haute Tension' and 'Calvert' tradition, movies part of the new French Horror revolution, but along the way it becomes so much more then that. I don't want to give anything away as there are several surprises and plot twists along the way which I guarantee you won't see coming, and eventually the film becomes something else entirely, something that owes more to a film like 2001 then a Horror film. But as much as I loved it and thought it was a work of art and something that makes you feel and think and bring on many discussions about it, there aren't many people I can recommend it to. It is brutal, unflinching, hard to watch and will probably really upset you. People at both screenings threw up and one guy during the Q and A told the Director he hated it and that he was a sick fuck for making it. I personally am glad I saw it, I haven't stopped thinking about it and I'm glad I got to experience it. I will be watching with great curiousity the reviews as it's guaranteed to create controversy.
Next movie later.
No comments:
Post a Comment